5 Major Struggles in the Complicated Life of A Young Writer

Hello! Welcome to Planet Gabrielle.

It sure does feel good to be blogging again! I really did miss it. And I missed you guys! So before we start, I wanted to tell you guys something:

I got a job!

Writing is already such a huge part of what I do, but I wanted go get a little something else. It’s not the most fabulous job, (it’s at Food Lion) but it’s a job! And I think it’s going to be really good for me. And I haven’t been there long, but the people seem to be nice and my boss is awesome.

Don’t worry, I’m still going to try my best to make time to blog! And if I can’t blog, I’ll let you guys know in advance on my Facebook page.

Now, let’s get to the good part.

Like I’ve already said, writing is very important to me. It’s more important to me than any boy, more important than getting a full night’s rest (oh what’s the big deal? at night is when I get most of my good writing done anyway. I’ll sleep for 8 hours one night soon…) and it’s even more important to me than music. I can’t believe I just said that, but after giving it some thought, it’s the truth.

When adults look at me, they see a teenager (sometimes.) When my peers look at me, they see someone like them…or at least they try to. But in reality, I feel as if I’m in a world alone.

Think about it, I got my first contract with a publisher when I was 16 years old. Sounds quite accomplished, doesn’t it? I couldn’t be more excited about becoming a published author. It’s what I’ve been waiting for my whole life. The drawers full of notebooks, journals, foo foo pens and scraps of paper have led up to this moment. On the contrary, it places me in a brand new social position.

Sometimes people my age get weird when I tell explain to them what I do. Some believe that I think I’m better than them, or that I think more of myself than I ought. I can assure you, this is not the least bit true. I’m not sure if everyone can understand my life – is it already very different, minus the fact that I’m almost a published author now. But I don’t mind explaining it – or at least attempting to.

So here’s a glimpse into my life.

I present to you: 5 Major Struggles in the Complicated Life of A Young Writer!

1. When You Have A Book Deadline

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always had respect for published authors. But you never really realize how much every author has had to go through until you go through it yourself.

When I wrote my first manuscript, I was so scared that I literally cut off everything and everyone. I didn’t know if I was going to ever finish, and the story seemed to go on forever.

And my only mood was:

It got to the point where one night, I just busted out crying. I was frustrated, I was stressed, and I was completely unsure of myself. After I knocked down that emotional wall, the process seemed to be a bit smoother and I was a lot less worried.

Of course, there are some people out there who are not going to understand this. If you’re a writer, you know what I mean. Writing can be an emotional thing. And sometimes, it can be frustrating when you can’t find the words to write, or how to finish a piece. Every writer is different – some like complete silence while they are working. Others like sound – they keep the TV on, or they have a writing play list.

Me? I like to turn on Spotify. For the manuscript that I just finished in November, I made a play list for each character along with just a writing play list. It’s actually a lot of fun. Also, when I’m under deadline, I don’t like to talk very long – I have limited conversations because I have to remain mentally present in the world I created. I’m not trying to be rude at all, but some people believe that I am. Therefore, I like to only talk to my friends and even my family when I’m not in the middle of writing. As long as you don’t interrupt me while I’m in the middle of a scene, then we’re good.

But if you do interrupt me – beware.

 

2. Sorry For Not Letting You Use Me

It’s nice being celebrated by friends and family when a publisher wants to take you on. But it isn’t so fun when they want you to “hook them up.”

Believe it or not, I did work to get where I am. Some might not believe this because of who my mother is, but it’s true. I kept up a daily blog, I put myself out there, I even wrote some fanfiction, which helped me gather my wonderful and adorable readers. This is how I got to where I am.

And not to mention, I wrote my manuscript. This was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. Not because it was so much writing, but because I have never really sat down and focused on just one story. I used to work a little bit on several different manuscripts, not being able to finish one.

I feel like I put in a lot of work. This is my passion. So I’m sorry if I’m not going to just let you ride my back so you can get to where you want to be. And what makes it even worse, is that the people who have wanted for me to help them, don’t want to put in the work of writing a synopsis, let alone a manuscript.

If someone asked me for help, and they were determined, serious, and they have been working on perfecting their craft, then I wouldn’t mind at least trying to help them. Becoming an author isn’t something just happens overnight. It takes hard work – you have to pour everything you are into your work, or there’s no need to do it.

So don’t be mad at me if I don’t feel like being your free book coach, checking your grammar, or reading more than two pages of something. Please, just don’t. No thank you.

3. Seeing Your Characters IRL

Sometimes when I write a story, I like to think of celebrities that may look similar to the main character that I have created. It’s just nice to have a real life representation of what the people living in your head look like, before they move onto a word document.

For example, in Mismatched, my main female character looks like me. So as I was writing, I imagined myself doing and saying everything she was. But when it came to her boyfriend type person, I literally had no idea who to think of. Like, no celebrity or person I knew came to mind. I wish I knew someone like him because we would be cute together, just saying.

So it was pretty awesome when I went into Subway of all places, and one of the guys who worked there looked almost exactly how I imagined my character to look. He was missing the piercings, but he did have some tattoos! He even took my order and made my sandwich and I just kept staring at him the whole time. Literally, I was not trying to be a stalker, but you would stare too if you saw someone who you’ve written about but have never actually met before.

4. Sending In Your Manuscript

I’m not gonna lie, this is one of the best feelings in the entire world. On the contrary, when you have been working on a project for months and putting your all into it, you can sometimes feel rather empty when you let it go. Sometimes if you’re not careful, you’ll start to miss it.

It’s a beautiful thing, especially if you’re going through this for the first time. I finished my first manuscript in early November, and I barely rested for the holidays. Now, I’m working on something new. I just like working – is that so wrong?

 

5. Waiting For The Next Step

 

Waiting to see what your publisher thinks of your story is probably one of the most awkward things I’ve ever done. Everyday, I wonder who could possibly reading my manuscript now, if they like it, if they hate it, and if they think the story is stupid, etc. Maybe it’s just me since I am after all Gabrielle. I literally stress out over every little thing and I’m a major perfectionist when it comes to my work. Every other second, I think about a scene I could have written better, or something I forgot to add, and I wonder if my story line is confusing.

But the only thing I can do right now is work on what I have in front of me, continue waiting patiently, and hope for the best.

 

Well, that concludes this blog post! It was rather long, I know. But we did talk about writing, and as you guys know, that’s kind of my thing. I hope you enjoyed reading it, though!

Don’t forget to hit me up on social media! I could always use some new Twitter friends! I also have a FB and Instagram!

Until next time! I hope you have one awesome week! And always remember, you’re perfect. Perfectly you! ❤

Leave a Reply

