College. Need I Say More?

635988914668798700-299535789_just20keep20swimming20gif1

Hello! Welcome back to Planet Gabrielle.

Wow – it’s been like forever.

I know I’ve done like the ultimate ghosting on you guys. For that, I apologize. Everything has just been super crazy lately. Each time I thought I was ready to write a new blog post, something new was happening in my life. Let’s see…I graduated from high school, (yeah even though I’m home schooled I still celebrated…in my own “weird” way) I got my first job in fashion retail, which was (for the most part) awesome. I can literally write multiple posts about my experience with that. However, I think I’ll just stick to one. I’ll write that soon.

Also one of the biggest things to ever happen in Gabrielle history has occurred.

I started college!

Not just any college either. I am now a full time student at the school of my dreams, the Art Institute of Raleigh-Durham. Everyone who really, really, really knows me, (which is very few people, by the way) knows that I’ve been wanting to attend the Art Institute since I was 8 or 9 years old. It was this long term goal that I always carried with me. After a while, I was beginning to think that it was just a pipe dream. Now, I’m actually a student. Can you believe it? One of little Gabrielle’s dreams has come true! Now all I need is a life time supply of chocolate chip mint ice cream, talking stuffed animals and all the stickers, glitter, notebooks and crayons in the world. Then and only then will the little girl that lives inside of me, be satisfied.

So how’s school going?

Well, it’s…going.

Honestly, the best part was the transition. It was a dramatic change, yes, but not too dramatic. I mean, have you been to the AI in Raleigh-Durham? Needless to say, it’s a shoe box compared to Duke, NCCU, or any other college in NC. Personally, I think it’s the perfect size. Not to mention Mellow Mushroom is just a hop, skip and a jump away. You can get one slice of pizza for just $1.99. Um, yes please!

My first day, I was super stressed. You see, since I’m in the fashion program, I have this huge suitcase-like thingy-ma-jig that I thought I’d have to lug around all day, everyday. Nevertheless, I decided at the last minute not to take it. I thought that if I did end up needing it that day, I could have just played the bewildered freshman card. Of course, I found out that I didn’t need all my supplies on the first day.

Thank God.

Ever since my first day, I’ve gotten into this little rhythm. Its almost cruel that I have a completely different schedule for next quarter. Of course, I have to say that I’m sooooo excited for the classes I’m taking next quarter. I’m taking this fashion history class and I think that I’m literally going to spontaneously burst from excitement. Fashion and history in one class?

I. JUST. CAN’T. EVEN.

I love everything about college. Well, at least I did. That is until I was introduced to the stressful, painful and horrifying experience that is finals.

I am currently afraid for my life.

I have so much work to do and so little time to do it. The weeks have been flying by so fast. It’s Monday and the next thing I know, its Monday again! Like is there some sort of time vacuum that colleges use to fluff with the minds of the dedicated students? I honestly want to know. If there is such a device, we can destroy it together.

I’ll end this post by saying, prepare for a new era of Planet Gabrielle. A lot of college angst, bigger words (maybe…don’t hold me to that) and fashion! I think it makes sense to write about fashion since I am majoring in fashion marketing and management. That should be fun!

Until next time! Always remember, you’re perfect. Perfectly you. ❤

Leave a Reply

